2015/16 Yearbook Judiciary

The High Court

The High Court of Kenya is established under Article 165 of the Constitution of Kenya. It has supervisory jurisdiction over all other subordinate courts and any other persons, body or authority exercising a judicial or quasi-judicial function. It was known as the Supreme Court of Kenya until 1964 and its name has remained unchanged since.

The following are the current justices of the High Court:
Mr. Justice Msagha Mbogholi
(i) Mr Justice Hatari Waweru
(ii) Mr Justice David Onyancha
(iii) Mr Justice Nicholas Ombija
(iv) Mr Justice Muga Apondi
(v) Lady Justice Jessie Lesiit
(vi) Mr Justice Joseph Sergon
(vii) Lady Justice Joyce Khaminwa
(viii) Mr Justice Leonard Njagi
(ix) Lady Justice Roseline Wendo
(x) Lady Justice Mary Kasango
(xi) Mr Justice Isaac Lenaola
(xii) Mr Justice Mathew Emukule
(xiii) Lady Justice Murugi Mugo
(xiv) Mr Justice Frederick Ochieng’
(xv) Mr Justice Luka Kimaru
(xvi) Lady Justice Ruth Sitati
(xvii) Mr Justice George Dulu
(xviii) Mr Justice Joseph Karanja
(xix) Lady Justice Helen Omondi
(xx) Lady Justice Nancy Oginde
(xxi) Mr Justice Aggrey Muchelule
(xxii) Lady Justice F N Muchemi
(xxiii) Lady Justice Maureen Odero
(xxiv) Lady Justice Abida Ali Aroni
(xxv) Mr Justice Said Chitembwe
(xxvi) Justice (Prof.) Joel Mwaura
(xxvii) Lady Mumbi Ngugi
(xxviii) Mr. Justice Joseph Mbalu
(xxix) Mr. Justice Edward Muthoga
(xxx) Lady Justice Pauline Nyamweya
(xxxi) Mr. Justice George Kanyi
(xxxii) Mr. Justice David Majanja
(xxxiii) Lady Justice Cecilia Wathaiya
(xxxiv) Lady Justice Beatrice Thuranira
(xxxv) Mr. Justice Weldon Korir
(xxxvi) Lady Justice Grace Nzioka
(xxxvii) Lady Justice Christine Meoli
(xxxviii) Lady Justice Hedwig Ong’undi
(xxxix) Lady Justice Stella Mutuku
(xl) Mr. Justice James Wakiaga.
(xli) Lady Justice Rose Ougo
(xlii) Mr. Justice Erick Ogola
(xliii) Mr. Justice George Odunga.
(xliv) Lady Justice Stella Muketi
(xlv) Mr. Justice Jonathan Havelock
(xlvi) Mr. Justice Hilary Chemitei.
(xlvii) Mr. Justice James Makau.
(xlviii) Mr. Justice Francis Tuiyot.
(xlix) Lady Justice Roseline Cherotich
(l) Mr. Justice Richard Mwongo
(li) Mr. Justice Alfred Mabeya.
(lii) Lady Justice Lydia Achode
(liii) Lady Justice Abigail Mshila
(liv) Mr. Justice William Musyoka
(lv) Lady Justice Nancy Kamau
(lvi) Mr. Justice Jairus Ngaah
(lvii) Mr. Justice Francis Gikonyo
(lviii) Mr. Justice Martin Muya
(lix) Lady Justice Esther Maina
(lx) Lady Justice Lilian Nabwire
(lxi) Lady Justice Grace Wangui


The Judicial Service Commission is established under Article 17 of the Constitution. The Constitution provides that the members of the Judicial Service Commission will include:-

(a) Chief Justice who serve as the chairman of the commission
(b) One Supreme Court Judge elected by the judges of the Supreme Court
(c) One Court of Appeal judge elected by the judges of the Court of Appeal
(d) One High Court Judge and Magistrate, one woman and one man, elected by the members of the Association of the Judges and Magistrates.
(e) The Attorney General
(f) Two advocates, a woman and a man, each with at least 15 years experience, elected by the members of the statutory body responsible for the professional regulation of advocates – the Law Society of Kenya
(g) One person nominated by the Public Service Commission and
(h) One woman and one man to represent the public, not being lawyers appointed by the President of the Republic of Kenya with the approval of the National Assembly.

The members of the JSC appointed to the commission through Gazette Notice Number 16956 of Dec 30, 2010 were Justice Riaga Omolo, Titus J.K Gateere, Bishop Anthony Muheria, Prof Christine Mango, Kevin Abungu, Florence Mwangangi and Ahmednasir Abdullahi. The other members are the Chief Justice Willy Mutunga who chairs the commission and the Attorney General, Prof. Githu Muigai.

The terms of some of the members of the commission have since expired and have been replaced. Among them is Ahmednasir Abdullahi for LSK who was replaced in 2014 by Prof. Tom Ojienda, and High Court Judge, Isaac Lenaola, replaced by Justice Aggrey Muchelule, to represent the Judges and Magistrates Association. The tenure of Prof Christine Mango also lapsed.

The JSC as presently constituted is as follows: Justice Dr. Willy M. Mutunga, Dr. Justice Smokin Wanjala, Mr Justice Mohamed Warsame, Mr Justice Aggrey Muchelule, Senior Counsel Prof Tom Ojienda, Attorney General Prof Githu Muigai, Chief Magistrate Emily Ominde, lawyer Florence Mwangangi, Public service Commission chairperson Prof Margaret Kobia, Mr Kipng’etich Bett and Winifred Guchu. The JSC secretary is Chief Registrar of the Judiciary Anne Amadi, who replaced Mrs Gladys Shollei.