2011/2012 Yearbook Devolution

46. Nyamira

Located in the former Nyanza Province, it borders the following counties: Bomet to the east, Narok to the south, Kisii to the west, Homa Bay to the north, and Kericho to the north east.




Temperatures range from a mean annual minimum of 10.1 °C to a mean maxi- mum of 28.7 °C, with rainfall amounts of between 600mm and 2,300mm per annum.

Road network

Bitumen surface 104.1km, gravel surface 641.4km and earth surface 343.4km.


598,252 people

Population density: 665 people per km2

National percentage: 1.55 per cent

Annual growth rate: 2.4 per cent


County capital: Nyamira Town (Pro- posed)

Constituencies: Kitutu Masaba, West Mugirango, North Mugirango and Borabu.


Poverty level: 46.6 per cent

Resources: Livestock, arable land, pas- ture, water

Tourist attractions: Manga Ridge, Keera and Kiomachingi Falls, hills

Main economic activities/industries: Tea, coffee, pyrethrum, dairy farming, banana plantations

Agricultural products: Maize, beans, sorghum, finger millet, dairy products


Number of institutions: Primary 567, Secondary  (168)

Enrollment: Primary 145,012, Secondary 37,070

Tertiary: One university college, one medical training college, one teacher training college, 36 youth polytechnics and several commercial colleges


Health facilities: 98 – Two District Hospitals, sub-district hospitals (4), dispensaries (47), health centres (26), medical clinics (16) and nursing homes (3).

Notable hospitals: Nyamira and Manga Districts Hospitals.