2011/2012 Yearbook Devolution

44. Migori

The county is located on the western side of Kenya and borders Homa-Bay, Kisii and Narok Counties




Two seasons of rain; temperatures 21 – 35 degrees C

Road network

Tarmac 72km, gravel/murram 324km, earth surface 514km

Key national monuments T

himlich Ohinga ruins


917,170 people

Density: 353 people per km2

National percentage: 2.38 per cent

Population growth rate: 3.05 per cent


County capital: Migori Town (proposed)

Constituencies: Rongo, Awendo, Migori East,  Migori West, Uriri, Nyatike,  Kuria East and Kuria West


Poverty level: 43 per cent of population live below the poverty line

Resources: Natural (gold), water (Kuja and Migori Rivers)

Main economic activities/industries: Agriculture, fishing, manufacturing and mining

Main agricultural products: Maize, millet, sugarcane, sorghum, ground- nuts, cassava, sweet potatoes, beans, sukuma-wiki, sweet bananas


Number of institutions: Primary 788, Secondary 144, Youth polytechnics 10

Enrollment: Primary 240,366, Secondary 17,554

Tertiary institutions: Moi Institute of Technology, Moi and Kenyatta Universities satellite campuses, and Migori TTC.


Hospitals: Four district hospitals and five sub district hospitals

Notable hospitals: Royal Hospital, Ombo Mission Hospital, Rakwaro Mission Hospital and Dr Machage Memorial Hospital