2011/2012 Yearbook Devolution

42. Kisumu

The County borders Vihiga to the north, Nandi to the north east, Kericho to the east, Nyamira to the south, Homa Bay to the south west and Siaya to the west.




Has an annual relief rainfall between 1,200mm and 1,300mm with a mean annual temperature of 23.0C and ranges between 20.0C and 35.0C.


968,909 people

Population density: 465 people per km2

National percentage: 2.5 per cent

Annual growth rate: Data not available


County capital: Kisumu Town (pro- posed

Constituencies: Kisumu East, Kisumu West, Kisumu Central, Seme, Nyando, Muhoroni and Nyakach.


Poverty rates: 45 per cent

Resources: Agricultural land, fisheries, water

Tourist attractions: Lake Victoria, Impala Park, Kisumu Museum,

Main economic activities/industries: Subsistence farming, livestock keeping, fishing, rice farming, sugar cane farming, and small scale trading


Number of institutions (2007): Primary (706), Secondary (173)

Enrollment: Primary 240,538, Secondary 38, 813

Tertiary: One university, four satellite college campuses, one national polytechnic, five youth polytechnics and several commercial colleges.


Health facilities: One provincial hospital, three district hospitals, sub-district hospitals (5), dispensaries (53), health centres (6) and others (30).

Notable hospitals: Nyanza Provincial General Hospital, Kisumu District Hospital and Aga Khan Hospital Kisumu.